Tags

, , ,

I love mini-books. They’re so fun, creative & a great way to experiment with new techniques. But I’ve never made one. No matter how adorable, fun or original mini-books are, they always fail my ‘new decor’ questions: do I like it enough to dust it (by hand)? followed by: am I willing to give up shelf space for this item?

I hate dust, looking at it, getting rid of it, the way it makes me sneeze… I dust with my vacuum because it’s faster, less dust escapes, it’s chemical-free & the wand attachments keep me off the tall ladder (we have a cathedral ceiling in the living room & our pictures are hung pretty far up).

The second question exists because, in a family of bibliophiles, shelf space (or any flat surface for that matter) is jealously guarded. To put this in perspective, perhaps I should tell you about our books. This last year, we got Kindles & began converting the physical books to digital. More than half of the books were added to a ‘future ebook purchases’ list, carefully packed in boxes, & donated. The only books remaining are our absolute favorites, limited editions & signed copies. They fill our four-foot by six-foot oak bookshelf. But the paperbacks are no longer two rows deep & we don’t have any more random stacks of books around the house. Of course, we dream of having a real library someday, something like Professor Higgins’ in the 1964 My Fair Lady

Source: thefancy.com via The Perfect Palette on Pinterest

But I digress… I’d been trying to figure a way around the dusting & space issue for a while, but hadn’t come up with anything. Then, while I was taking the annual pictures of our Christmas tree, I had a flash of inspiration: ornaments! It was so simple & so perfect, I don’t know why it didn’t occur to me earlier. Since the holiday season was already in full swing, I had to wait a few weeks to get started.

Closed Star Book

This ornament for my son was inspired by Ciaee’s Daisy Book, which I found while browsing Pinterest. Ciaee listed two links with wonderful instructions for making a star book here & here. Both links are very clear, one has written instructions with lots of photos, the other is primarily video. I did a bit more browsing & decided that I could make one with tools & materials I already had.

Sharpie on VellumSupplies:

I chose a final size of 2″ tall for my star book, which kept the book small & let me divide a 12×12 vellum sheet into 4″ squares. The image being drawn on the vellum is the Snowflake Silhouette from Damask Décor. It was drawn at 4″ tall with a dark blue ultra fine point Sharpie in a Mar-Kits holder. Next time, I’ll drawn the designs on the paper before I cut out the squares so the design is perfectly centered.

2 - Score   3 - Fold   4 - Round Corners

The next step was to score & fold the 4″ squares. I used a corner rounder on the tip. Then it was time to glue them together. I didn’t have the recommended glue stick, so I used the wide applicator on my Tombow Mono Multi Liquid Glue. The acrylic was cut into 2.25″ squares so I would have space to write on the top edge. Three of the four corners were rounded on the covers, not an easy task with a regular corner rounder. I punched holes with my Crop-A-Dile Eyelet & Snap Punch. The acrylic covers were attached to the folded squares with Terrifically Tacky Tape. The tape wasn’t quite as clear as Glossy Accents would have been, but it will be able to flex as the star book is packed & unpacked each year. Finally, silver ribbon was cut to length & threaded through the book. I added a small piece of Terrifically Tacky Tape under the ribbon on each cover to be sure the ribbon couldn’t be pulled out of the star book by accident.

Open Star Book

At this point,  my son decided he liked the ornament just the way it was, so he vetoed all additional embellishments. Since it’s his ornament, it was his call; guess I’ll just have to ‘pretty up’ the next one…

