Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

This is my entry for the Roadtrip to CHA Pennant Contest. Summary of the rules:

a.      Theme:
The pennant should be your representation of the state, providence or country of your choosing.

b.      Pennant Size and Shape:
The pennant shape is from the BIRTHDAY BASH CARTRIDGE.  The ‘pennants’ that can be used are in the <font> section on pages 58-70.  Please use a ‘fit to page’ for a 12×12 inch piece of paper.  Pennants larger than 12×12 will be disqualified.

c.       Timeline:
All  pennants must be received at the Provo Craft Offices by end of day on Monday, July 18th. Pennants will not be returned.

CHA Banner - Vegas
I decided to have fun with a Nevada themed pennant. Of course, one of the first things that comes to mind when anyone thinks ‘Nevada’ is Las Vegas.
The skyline of the Strip is from Destinations. I used my Gypsy to weld a rectangle & triangle at the bottom of the skyline to match the shape of the pennant. White ink was added behind the skyline to separate it from the night sky & because the Strip really is that bright at night.
The Vegas title is from Tie the Knot. Fireworks are from Stand And Salute.
The dancing girl is from Rock Princess. Even cut at 8″ tall, some of the layers for the dancing girl were TINY. I put the paper thru my Xyron machine before cutting to make the assembly easier (tweezers came in really handy). Some of the layers were too much trouble to fuss with (JMO). So, the layers I ended up using were the hair, clothes, eyes, nose & mouth. The bracelets & shoes were colored with markers & Stickles. The shirt was cut a little shorter & ‘BRIDE’ was handwritten with a glitter pen. I had meant to add a rhinestone to her belly button, but I didn’t have any small enough. The shadow layer for the girl was cut from a white vellum with pieces of glitter in it. I love how the vellum accents the girl without distracting from the rest of the design.
I added a pearlescent eggplant ink to the pennant shadow layer & the extra color just pulled the whole design together.
Vegas Banner_detail
I was so tempted to keep this, if only I could have figured out a place to hang it up… Hopefully, you & the folks at Provo Craft love it as much as I do.
