Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

After we painted the living room last fall, I decided that it was finally time to put a few vinyl words & phrases on the walls. After a few (unsuccessful) shopping trips, I headed back to my craft room to brainstorm. While I was going through my paper stash, I came across a roll of black marble contact paper. Lightbulbs went off, the heavens sang… Ok, a slight exaggeration, but it meant that I could experiment with a material very similar to vinyl without hurting my wallet.

Because the contact paper I had was significantly thinner than most vinyl, I decided to start my experiment by using one of my favorite cartridges: Wall Decor & More.

Family

After I ruined a few cuts by trying to reposition them on the wall (contact paper stretches very easily), I used clear contact paper from my stash in place of transfer tape… I have textured walls, so the words aren’t completely flat, but they stayed up (which was the important part).

Next, I decided that the collage of family photos in our dining room could use a little something. I found ‘Memories’ on American Alphabet (exclusive to the Cricut Expression 2: Anniversary Edition).

Memories

Our living room was painted a soft blue (Almost Aqua by Glidden) to go with the beach theme we choose. I picked out a few of my favorite phrases from Life’s A Beach to place around the room.

Seashore

After I cut out ‘seashore’ I realized that the details in the ‘o’ were just lines, not actually cut out so the design was visible. Rather than trying to fix that with my Gypsy, I grabbed an Exacto, a cutting mat & my patience; then I went to work expanding the cuts inside the design. I think it turned out pretty well…

Retreat

Daydream

