Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

May your speed be quick,
may your tail be fluffed,
may your borrow be warm,
and your cheeks both stuffed!

~ Old Chipmunk Blessing

While browsing the web for birthday card ideas, I came across this poem. Since the birthday card is for a friend known for her whimsy & fun personality, I just had to use it.

Old Chipmunk Blessing - 4 inch

The round card shape was created by welding two circles together, but several cartridges do have circle cards (I just don’t have any of those… yet.)

I would have loved to have a chipmunk somewhere on the card, but during my search with my Gypsy & Cricut Craft Room, I discovered that I don’t have one. In fact, the only chipmunks I could find were Chip & Dale from Disney Mickey & Friends. I had several squirrels, but I didn’t want to alter any more images for this project. After another search, I decided to use an acorn & leaves image from Martha Stewart Seasonal Cake Art. Adding a second mat in my Gypsy file, I centered the acorn & leaves over the card front on the first mat. (If you don’t have a Gypsy, you can do the same thing with Cricut Craft Room.) Then, I used the Hide Contour feature to remove the outside circle. An ultra fine orange Sharpie in a Mar-Kits holder was used to draw the acorn & leaves.

        • TIP:  When putting a marker or other drawing tool in your Cricut machine, it’s a good idea to place a piece of scrap paper or a Post-It under the marker to protect your paper or mat from stray marks while loading. Mar-Kits holders work with any Cricut machine & are made to hold fine or ultra fine Sharpie mini markers.

Next, I selected Return to Design. I did NOT select Unload Mat because I wanted my drawing & cut images to match. The Mar-Kits holder was switched out to the cutting blade. I chose the mat with my card & cut it around the drawing of the acorn & leaves.

        • If I had been drawing & cutting the same image, I would have cut the image before drawing it. That way, I wouldn’t have to wait for the ink to dry or worry about the wet paper tearing.

The card front was embossed with the A2 Moroccan Screen folder by Cuttlebug. The card was made to be 5×5 inches, so I centered the embossing folder on the front. I didn’t like it, so I moved the embossing folder a little to the right being careful to match up the pattern for a second run thru the Cuttlebug. After the second time thru, there was only a minor crease on the right & a slightly more noticeable crease on the left. The raised pattern was inked with Pearlescent Olive Brilliance Dew Drop by Tsukineko.

Using the Hide Contour feature again, I hid the leaves & cut the acorns from brown cardstock. A brown marker was used for shading & the acorn tops were covered with Copper Stickles. The leaves were filled in the Aqua Stickles. The next day, I noticed some of the orange Sharpie peaking thru around the edge of the leaves. It didn’t blend well, so I covered it with a purple ultra fine Sharpie. Then, a thin top layer of Gold Stickles was added to the leaves. The Stickles were left to dry overnight between layers.

I had picked up twine for the wooden button, but I couldn’t tie a bow small enough to work. I tried the button on the card by itself & decided it looked just fine like that; one 3D Zots Dot later, the front of the card was finished & fabulous.

DSCF3063_front

The poem was typed in Adobe Photoshop Elements. I used a free PSD template to make the text wrap around a circle. The poem was printed onto a transparency sheet, cut it out by hand & ran it thru my Xyron.

        • TIP: I often use liquid glue, but when attaching transparency or vellum to projects, I prefer to use my Xyron machine. The layer of dry adhesive eliminates uneven lumps, paper curling and dreadful ‘glue spots’ from ruining your finished project.

The “Happy Birthday” phrase on the left inside is from Paper Pups. The phrase was cut from brown cardstock; the shadow was cut from purple paper. A thin line of Copper Stickles was added for some needed bling & left to dry overnight. The acorn & leaves cut on the right inside is from Celebrate With Flourish, one of the Lite cartridges found exclusively at Wal-Mart or Cricut.com. Yellow & green markers were used to add some detail, then the layered cut was glued on the poem transperancy.

DSCF3079_inside

Well, that’s another birthday card. I hope you like it as much as our friend. TTFN.

