Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

DSCF3239_edit‘Bee Happy’ was originally made to for a belated birthday gift & because I wanted to try making a rosette. The card was a hit & I found that while keeping the center glued down can be a little tricksy, rosettes are rather straightforward to make.

This is a photo of the original card, taken before heading out the door. The trees in our yard shade most of the house in the mornings, so this was the sunniest picture I could get before I ran out of time.

Because this card would also be great as a general ‘hello’ or ‘congratulations’ card, I decided to make a few more. It never hurts to have a small collection of miscellaneous greeting cards on hand.

Supplies List:
  • Cricut Machine
  • Gypsy
  • Create A Critter Cartridge – Bee
  • Just Because Cards Cartridge
  • Martha Stewart All Occasions Cartridge
  • Ivory Greeting Card & Envelope
  • Provocraft Doodlecharms Paper Pack
  • Non-stick Scissors (Tim Holtz Non-stick Micro Serrated Scissors)
  • Scoring Board with ¼” grooves (Martha Stewart Crafts Scoring Board)
  • Terrifically Tacky Tape
  • Glossy Accents
  • Tombow Mono Multi Liquid Glue
  • White Vellum
  • Yellow Cardstock
  • Black Cardstock
  • Xyron Permanent Adhesive
  • Acrylic / Piece of plastic packaging
  • Copic Sketch Markers: R20 & Blending Marker

Rosette 1I prefer to use my Gypsy when setting up images to cut with my Cricut machine. I find that it’s so much easier to organize all my images & not forget anything. Once I’ve selected all of my images & layers, I separate them onto multiple cutting mats so I can cut each type of paper at once rather than cutting each paper and/or layer individually.

The first mat cut for this project was the lightweight papers: vellum bee wings & rosettes. I cut four sets of wings for each bee since I was planning on making ‘flutter’ wings. If you didn’t want the extra fuss, you may want to cut a single set out of wings from white cardstock instead. As I took the wings off the mat, they were set aside in two piles (left wings & right wings) for later assembly.

Rosette 2

I chose a border image from Martha Stewart All Occasions Cake Art to use for my rosette. No particular reason for using this border over another, I just liked the loops. When I was getting ready to weld copies into one long border using my Gypsy (you could also do this in Cricut Craft Room), I noticed that the ‘natural’ crease points between the loops line were just under ¼” apart. I wanted to use my scoring board without sliding the paper back & forth, so I deleted all but one border image, turned off the ratio lock & stretched the border just a little so I would be able to score ¼” apart. I copied the newly stretched border & lined the borders up with sides touching. Using three border pieces extended past the bottom cutting edge of the mat, but that worked me: 12″ border piece for the rosette plus ¼” tab to attach the ends together. Before I lifted the rosettes off the cutting mat, I trimmed the end of the paper at the bottom of the mat, continuing from where the Cricut had stopped cutting to the edge of the paper.

I had everything lined up & sized the way I wanted it, so I turned on the preview & saw that my border images were still going to cut separately. Images need to have a small overlap to be welded, so I needed to add something. A tall rectangle was shrunk down & set over each seam. I grouped everything together & welded, then tried the preview again. This time the pieces were set to cut as one long border which could be scored at every ¼”.

Rosette 3     Rosette 4

After scoring, I fan folded the border then trimmed the end so the tab wouldn’t show behind the loop when the ends were glued together. The picture above (right) shows the end before & after trimming the tab.

Rosette 5     Rosette 6

I used my Tombow Mono Multi Liquid Glue to attach the ends together. Once I was ready to flatten my rosette, I quickly figured out that I had to be extra careful not to bend any of the loops while pressing the center of the rosette down to form a circle. The photo below was taken with only one hand so it was easier to see the rosette being flattened. But flattening a rosette is definitely a two-hand job because right after the picture was taken the rosette popped out from under my hand.

Rosette 7     Rosette 8

Because rosettes are already pretty dimensional, I didn’t want to use a thick adhesive (like foam tape) to attach it to the card. I decided to try Terrifically Tacky Tape on the bottom of the rosette with Glossy Accents in the center. I put two small pieces of the Terrifically Tacky Tape on the bottom of the rosette, leaving the red liner on the tape. I carefully flipped the rosette over & filled the center with Glossy Accents. Then I set the bottle of Glossy Accents on top of the rosette to keep it flat until the glue dried.

Bee - Cut 1     Bee - Cut 2

Before I cut the bee & sentiment layers, I ran the yellow cardstock thru my Xyron machine. While none of the layers had a lot of detail, I decided that not having to glue the layers together by hand would be a worthwhile time-saver. The sticker backing is very similar to wax paper, so I prefer to add masking tape to the corners. That way, I don’t have to worry about it sliding around while my Cricut is cutting.

Sentiment_1Carefully, lift the top sentiment layer off the sticker backing. Attach it to the sentiment base slightly offset. Set aside the sentiment & assemble the bee.

I wanted to use the shadow layer of the bee to make it sturdier & easier to glue onto the rosette. So, I cut a 4″ piece out of the packaging for a cartridge. Just to be sure it wouldn’t shift while cutting, I added masking tape to the corners. It cut beautifully & didn’t add any visual weight to the finished bee.

 Sentiment_2

Glue the black base layer of the bee on the clear acrylic shadow layer. Carefully lift the yellow face & stripe layers from the sticker backing & apply to black base layer. Set aside until ‘flutter’ wings are ready to attach.

Bee - Wings 1To create the ‘flutter’ wings, you’ll need to cut a few small tabs. I cut small pieces from the scrap vellum, approx. ½ cm x 1cm, and folded them in half. The tabs on each side of the folded piece are glued to the inside edge of the wings.

You’ll need three folded tabs & four wings to make each ‘flutter’ wing. First, place a small amount of glue on your first tab & line the folded edge up on the inside edge of a wing. Be careful not to use so much glue that it squeezes out around the tab. You might want to use tweezers to hold the tab, my nails are long enough that I didn’t need the tweezers & I don’t have a manicure to ruin. Hold the tab & wing together until the glue begins to set to be sure the tab won’t move on the wing. Turn the tab & wing over so you can glue the second wing to the other side/tab.

Bee - Wings 2     Bee - Wings 3

I found it easier to glue two wings to a tab, then glue the remaining to two wings to a second tab. Once both sets were dry, I used the third tab to glue both sets together. I curled each of the wings using my nails to give them more shape (my munchkin has made off with all the pencils in our house or I would have used one of them). Once the wings for each side are together & dried, glue just the bottom wing to the black bee base layer.

Bee - Color 1     Bee - Color 2

While the bee is simply adorable as is, especially with the ‘flutter’ wings, it needed a little color. With my R20 Copic marker, I colored a dot for each cheek, then I smoothed the edges with my Blending Marker. Now glue the bee to the rosette…

Using a generous amount of Glossy Accents on the back of the bee, gently press the bee on the top of the rosette. You may wish to set the Glossy Accents bottle (or other light weight) on top of the bee until the glue begins to dry.

Bee Happy Card_2

Once the bee is firmly attached to the rosette, remove the red covering on the Terrifically Tacky Tape (already on the back of the rosette). Position the rosette with bee on the front of the card & press down to attach. Glue the sentiment below the rosette & the front of the card is done. And that’s my recreated “Bee Happy” card… I hope you like it as much as I do. Until next time…

