Tags

, , , , , ,

Travel Game Chess SetLast summer, I created a travel game set as part of a crafting challenge & to keep my munchkin busy over the summer (mostly the second reason). The inside of the lid was setup with a grid for tic-tac-toe, but the pieces weren’t made for the challenge. Long story short, my munchkin has been enjoying his chess & checkers games so much that he said he’d let me know when he was ready for the next set of game pieces. He also vetoed the tubes for holding the game pieces & the carrying bag: ‘I won’t use them for that. Besides, you’ll get mad at me when I lose them or break them, & I don’t want to get in trouble, Mom. So why stress yourself out…’

If you’d like to see the chess & checkers pieces shown in the picture above, the original post is here.

At any rate, we try to have family gatherings each month & during the last one my son showed the travel games to his cousins. They noticed the grid on the bottom of the lid & wanted to know what happened to the tic-tac-toe pieces. Faced with three sets of puppy dog eyes, I promised to have tic-tac-toe pieces ready for the next family gathering.

I started by searching thru my cartridges for X’s & O’s. My munchkin picked his favorites & decided on the colors from my cardstock stash. The ‘X’ is Shadow font from the Plantin Schoolbook cartridge. I used the lower case ‘X’ so while the real size is 1.70″ tall, it was cut at 3″ tall. The medallion is from Martha Stewart All Occasions Cake Cartridge cut at 1.8″ tall.

Tic-Tac-Toe Pieces

If you look at the handbook, you’ll see that the medallion has a scalloped edge. My munchkin wanted the ‘starburst’ center (I was not going to mention that it could also be a flower), but without the ‘fussy’ edge. Hide Contour feature to the rescue: using my Gypsy, I hid the scalloped edge & replace it with a smooth circle. If you don’t own a Gypsy, Cricut Craft Room also has the Hide Contour feature, or you could trim off the scalloped edge with a pair of scissors.

Laminated PiecesI debated on several magnet options. In the end, I used my Xyron with the Laminate/Magnet adhesive. While the tic-tac-toe pieces aren’t waterproof, the laminate top is dirt-resistant & can be wiped clean when needed. I didn’t trim the top or bottom of the X’s. Leaving the top & bottom solid reduces the chance of the X’s beings torn during play. It also let me avoid the possibility of having to redo any X’s if the scissors slipped. After all the X’s & O’s were neatly trimmed, I used a bone folder to burnish the laminate onto the die cuts. There wasn’t much of a difference in the final look of the tic-tac-toe pieces, but burnishing the laminate helps it to bond smoothly & removes any small bubbles.

Tic-Tac-Toe

All-in-all, this project took less than an hour, even with breaks to grab a drink & answer munchkin questions. Then it was time to test them out before handing them over… a clear win.

