Tags

, , , , , ,

My niece is currently obsessed with Mickey & Minnie Mouse. Since Mickey Mouse creeped me out for the longest time, I am convinced that something out there has a rather twisted sense of humor. At any rate, this is my misadventure making Minnie Mouse magnets for my darling niece’s birthday.

My niece has a Minnie Mouse doll in a purple bow, dress & shoes that she takes everywhere with her, so I decided to do same with the magnets. The Cricut Mickey and Friends cartridge had four (4) Minnie Mouse images, so I pulled out my Gypsy & got to work. You could do this project without a Gypsy (or Cricut Craft Room), but I like to use my Gypsy to arrange the images for maximum paper saving & convenience.

Minnie Mouse Magnets

I do want to apologize about the lack of step-by-step photos. I barely remembered to take a photo of the magnets on the fridge before my niece grabbed them.

I used four colors of cardstock to cut out my images: black, white, cream & purple. As I pulled all the layers off the cutting mat, I carefully set them aside according to which Minnie they belonged with. I realized that the white pieces for the eyes were a lot smaller than I was willing to deal with, so I use white paint & a fine tip brush to fill in the whites of the eyes. I had planned on using a white pen rather than paint, but my pen was AWOL & it was too late to grab one from the store. The background paper is a holographic rainbow gift wrap.

After all my layers were cut out & sorted, I pulled out my Copic Markers to add a little shading. In addition to the Colorless Blender to smooth the color on all the layers, I used R20, E51, & E00 on the face; N1 & R20 on the dress, bow, & shoes. Distress Stickles Rock Candy gave the bows some glitter without a lot of fuss.

Because my niece just turned two, I wanted to make the magnets as durable as possible. First, I tried laminating the Minnie with the magnet attached to the back. My magnet must have been thicker than the lady who posted the tip (or she had access to a much better laminating machine) because I didn’t get very good results.

Minnie_1

The laminate didn’t stick evenly on or around Minnie. I cut as close to the sealed edge as I dared, but I wasn’t sure if the uneven seal was due to the layers of cardstock or the magnet on the back, so I tried laminating the next Minnie without the magnet attached.

Minnie_2

The second Minnie was better, but there were still bubbles. So, I pulled out my bottle of Glossy Accents & carefully covered the last two images. The backgrounds were run through the laminate machine without Minnie, then set aside to cool while the Glossy Accents dried overnight.

Minnie_3

The next morning, both Minnie images had dried & resembled epoxy stickers. That gave me the idea of running them through my Xyron. Once I peeled my new Minnie stickers off the backing paper, I carefully placed them in the center of the laminated backgrounds. I stuck the magnets to the back & put them up on the fridge.

Minnie_4

I’ll make sure to have my camera handy next time I make a project for my niece. I’m rather pleased with the way the magnets turned out; I just wish I had better photos to share with you.

