Tags

, , , ,

We have begun the tax deadline countdown at work which brought my attention to the date… and the fact that I’ve gone another week without finishing any craft projects. That’s not to say that I haven’t gotten into my craft space; I’ve spent a few late-night hours there in the last week. I simply haven’t been able to pull the bits into a cohesive, finished project.

I recently picked up a few Close to My Heart stamp sets. My current favorite is D1438 Circle of Love, which is a discontinued set. I found mine while browsing Ebay.

Peacock_Gold

This peacock was stamped on acrylic packaging with Jet Black StazOn solvent ink & covered with gold embossing powder. Once I began melting the embossing powder, I found out that the acrylic packaging was inclined to curl under heat. Oops! After I cut out the peacock, I carefully reheated the plastic & pressed it flat.

Peacock_Distressed

The second peacock is ‘second generation’ stamp using the Jet Black StazOn solvent ink (meaning I didn’t re-ink the stamp between images). I scratched off sections of the stamped image for a distressed look. I covered what was left with GlazOn Matte & used my heat gun to speed up the drying time & create the crackle effect. I rubbed maybe a ¼ teaspoon of gold embossing powder over the crackle & heated it. It adds a very subtle shimmer which I don’t know if you can see it in the photo. After the plastic had cooled, I used my finger to rub Luna Lights paint into the cracks in the GlazOn layer.  I used the light blue Luna Lights paint & a little white Luna Lights paint, but since I bought my bottles from Stamp Oasis when they were first releasing them, my Luna Lights bottles don’t have the color names printed on them so I can’t be more specific.

This peacock mirrors the first because I flipped the acrylic over so the stamped image is above the crackle & paint. I don’t often experiment with distressed looks, but I may have to do it more often because I love the way this turned out.

ALERT: If you are a stamper who prefers to keep your stamps in pristine condition, I want to let you know that StazOn solvent ink will stain clear stamps.

