Tags

, , , , , ,

My boss asked me to make two sympathy cards this week, one for a client & one for a previous coworker. Since I’m still not feeling 100%, I decided to keep the cards super simple. With that in mind, I chose several common elements from my stash to decorate both cards: cream card base with envelope, Kraft paper, white satin ribbon and stamp.

The card base with envelope was in my stash (purchased some time ago). The Kraft paper was saved from a package. The sentiment stamp is from Close To My Heart (D1510 4 My Friend). After a thorough search through my stamps, I discovered that this was the only sympathy card sentiment in my stash.

Sympathy Flower_Front

Since I didn’t know anything about my boss’ former coworker, I kept the first card simple. Sympathy Flower_InsideThe Kraft paper was crumbled, sprayed with Perfect Pearls Mist & cut to size. White satin ribbon was trimmed to fit the flower border rub-on & glued to the Kraft paper. The sentiment was stamped in Black Soot Distress Ink. Because Distress Inks are not waterproof, I covered the stamped sentiment with Matte StazOn. Another rub-on from the same Asian-themed set (in my stash) was added to the inside of the card. You can see in the detail photo that the rub-on slipped a little while I was applying it, but it’s not too obvious & it suits the look of the card.

Sympathy Peacock_Front

The second card was made for a client that I work with directly. She is very sweet with something of a flamboyant personality, so I immediately thought of the distressed peacock which I’d made the previous week.Sympathy Peacock_Inside-Right For this card, the Kraft paper was crumbled, but not sprayed, then wrapped vertically around the front of the card. White ribbon was attached to the Kraft paper & the peacock was glued down with Mini Glue Dots. The sentiment was stamped in Black Soot Distress Ink & covered with Matte StazOn. On the inside, I stamped & embossed a peacock feather from Close To My Heart (D1438 Circle of Love). I know you can’t see it in the photo, but the opalescent embossing powder really shines. On the left side, I added a short poem, Author Unknown.

Sympathy Peacock_Inside-Left

Perhaps they are not stars, but rather openings in heaven where the love of our lost ones pours through and shines down upon us to let us know they are happy.

