Tags

, , , , ,

One of my coworkers lost her aunt this week. It wasn’t surprising, but it was a lot sooner than expected. My boss asked if I would mind making another sympathy card; this is what I came up with.

I started with a white card base from my stash, around 4×6 folded. The background was made by rubbing Distress Ink over a template. I added Faded Jeans Distress Ink to Ink Blending Foam on an Alcohol Ink Applicator, then carefully held down the Mini Flower Frenzy 6×6 template from The Crafter’s Workshop while I rubbed over top. If you wanted a really crisp image, you could use spray repositionable adhesive to hold the template in place.

Sympathy - Flowers_Front

Distress Inks are not waterproof, so I added a thin layer of StazOn Matte Finish scrapped on with a small squeegee. My squeegee was saved from the last time I got a protective skin for my phone, but you could use also a plastic card or even your finger. The sentiment was stamped with Jet Black Ranger Archival Ink. The “Remember” & “Good Times” stamps are from the Close To My Heart S1109 (Limited Edition) stamp set. “Sweet Moments” is from the Close To My Heart C1435 (Floral Lace) stamp set. I added a few clear rhinestones from a variety pack in my stash to finish the front.

Inside the card, I used Faded Jeans Distress Ink to stamp the ruler from the Seamless Experience stamp set by Stampers Anonymous (Tim Holtz Collection). The card shifted as I was lifting the stamp, so I embraced the imperfection: I stamped the ruler slightly off-set two more times without re-inking, then smeared the ink with a damp paper towel. I rather like the softer look.

Sympathy - Flowers_Inside

"Those who live in our memories are never truly lost"

The inside sentiment was paraphrased from a quote I (mostly) remembered. It was rather late when I was finishing up the card & I didn’t want to turn on the computer. When I’m over-tired, computer searches have a tendency to digress into several hours of browsing… very bad for a good night’s sleep.

I’ve listed the supplies used for the card, below, in case you were curious. If you know the actual quote that I paraphrased (or where I can find it), I’d love to hear from you.

Supply List

  • The Crafter’s Workshop – Mini Flower Frenzy 6×6 Template
  • Distress Ink – Faded Jeans
  • Alcohol Ink Applicator with Ink Blending Foam
  • StazOn Matte Finish
  • CTMH: S1109 (Limited Edition) – “Remember” & “Good Times”
  • CTMH: C1435 (Floral Lace) – “Sweet Moments”
  • Clear Rhinestones (3 sizes)
  • Ranger Archival Ink – Jet Black
  • Stampers Anonymous – Seamless Experience (Tim Holtz Collection)
