Tags

, , , , , ,

One of the ladies at a crafting message board I read asked for birthday cards for a little boy who was going to be spending his 9th birthday in the hospital. I didn’t want to miss his birthday, so I made a quick card & sent it out with the next morning’s post.

For the card, I started with a cream card base out of my stash. I stamped the word background stamp from Stampers Anonymous Tim Holtz Collection (CMS106) Papillon stamp set with Tea Dye Distress Ink. I quickly added clear embossing powder to the stamped background because I didn’t want the words to blend into the layers I was going to add over top.

Bday Card - Austin_Tools

Once the embossing powder cooled, I placed my Mini Capricious 6×6 Template from The Crafter’s Workshop over the card & began rubbing Old Paper Distress Ink through the stencil. I moved the stencil around several times until I felt there were enough flourishes. Then I started adding Broken China Distress Ink with an ink applicator.

I liked the look so far, but it needed a bit more depth of color. A bit of Vintage Photo Distress Ink & a few pieces of tissue tape really brought out the layers & gave it a masculine feel.

Bday Card - Austin_Color   Bday Card - Austin_Darken

Then all it needed was a bit of shimmer (Heirloom Gold Perfect Pearls Mist)…

Bday Card - Austin_Finished

Because the front of the card was a little busy, the sentiment was stamped inside the card. The Happy Birthday sentiment I used was from Close To My Heart (D1510) 4 My Friend stamp set, stamped with Jet Black Ranger Archival Ink. Of course, the card was signed & in the mailbox before I noticed that I hadn’t gotten a photo of the inside, so you’ll have to take my word for it.

Supply List

  • Non-stick Craft Sheet, Acrylic Blocks, Ink Applicator & Foam
  • Distress Ink: Tea Dye, Old Paper, Vintage Photo, Broken China
  • Stamper’s Anonymous Tim Holtz Collection: Papillon (CMS106)
  • Clear Embossing Powder & Heat Tool
  • The Crafter’s Workshop: Mini Capricious 6×6 Template
  • Tissue Tape
  • Perfect Pearls Mist: Heirloom Gold
  • CTMH: (D1510) 4 My Friend
  • Ranger Archival Ink: Jet Black
