Tags

, , , , ,

0_Card-CreateYourself

Life isn’t about finding yourself, life is about creating yourself.

I’ve been waiting (somewhat) patiently for the new Picket Fence Distress Stain to show up at my local scrapbook store (darn back-order) so I could play with the marbling technique & stamping. After I had this card all together & sat down to begin my blog post, I realized that the process of making the card was a bit hard to visualize without a few photos.

Since I didn’t take any photos the first time around, I decided to make another card. I’m not going to go into the details of how to do the marbling technique or stamp with Picket Fence Distress Stain in this blog post. (It’s rather messy & my sweeite would be beyond put-out if I ruined my camera.) If you haven’t seen this technique before, I’d recommend starting at Tim Holtz’s website or taking a few minutes to watch this YouTube video.

1_Distress Stain

I started with a 4″ x 6″ piece of cream cardstock on a non-stick craft sheet, water-filled mister, & my Distress Stains: Broken China, Peeled Paint, & Picket Fence. Once the background was dry, I stamped with Picket Fence Distress Stain & dried it immediately with a heat tool. The flower stamp is from the Stampers Anonymous Heartfelt (CSS30218) stamp set.

2_ReverseStampEmboss

Once that was dry, I pulled out my Cuttlebug & Damask embossing folder. I stamped on the smooth side of the folder with the reflected script stamp from the Stampers Anonymous Reflections (CMS111) stamp set using Jet Black Ranger Archival Ink. (The script wasn’t as clear this time because I used less ink & the background color was a bit darker than the first time.) After embossing, I trimmed the excess paper off so my background image was now 4″ x 5-1/2″.

3_InkEdges

I used my Crop-A-Dile Corner Chomper (1/2″ radius) to round the corners & then added ink to the embossed damask pattern with Crushed Olive & Tea Dye Distress Ink. Dusty Concord Distress Ink was rubbed on the edges for added definition.

4_Stamps

White crinkle ribbon was attached to the background layer with small squares of Terrifically Tacky Tape on the back & a few mini dots under the ribbon on the front.

The sentiment was stamped in Jet Black Ranger Archival Ink on a scrap piece of cream cardstock. For the aged effect, the edges of the paper were rubbed on a Tea Dye Distress Ink stamp pad then the paper was lightly misted with water. The water allows the ink to spread toward the center & softens the dark edges.  The sentiment is from the Stampers Anonymous Mini Classics (CMS062) stamp set.

The butterfly was stamped with Jet Black Ranger Archival Ink on white cardstock. It was colored with Dusty Concord & Tattered Rose Distress Ink, then sprayed with Heirloom Gold Perfect Pearls Mist. I used a heat tool to speed up the drying process then carefully cut out the butterfly & shaped its wings. The butterfly is from the same stamp set as the flower (used earlier): Stampers Anonymous Heartfelt (CSS30218).

 5_PerfectPearlsMist

For the mat layer, I cut a 4-5/8″ x 5-3/8″ piece of cream cardstock & roughed up the edges with a distress tool. I didn’t add color into the center because only the edges would be visible one the background was attached. The edges were rubbed on a Walnut Stain Distress Ink stamp pad. Colors used on the mat layer were Walnut Stain & Dusty Concord Distress Ink, followed by several generous spritzes of Heirloom Gold Perfect Pearls Mist.

 6_Assemble

The background was glued to the mat layer, then the card base, with Tacky Glue. The sentiment was attached over the crinkle ribbon using foam dots. The center of the butterfly was glued with Tacky Glue & the wings were popped up with foam dots.

Since the card would work equally well as a birthday, graduation or general congratulations card, I decided to leave the inside blank until I’m ready to give the card to someone.

Supplies

  • Distress Stains – Broken China, Peeled Paint, Picket Fence
  • Non-Stick Craft Sheet
  • Mini Mister with water
  • Cuttlebug Embossing Folder – Damask
  • Corner Rounder (Crop-A-Dile Corner Chomper – 1/2″ radius)
  • Stamps
      • Flower: Stampers Anonymous – Heartfelt (CSS30218)
      • Butterfly: Stampers Anonymous – Heartfelt (CSS30218)
      • Script: Stampers Anonymous – Reflections (CMS111)
      • Sentiment: Stampers Anonymous – Mini Classics (CMS062)
  • Ranger Archival Ink – Jet Black
  • Distress Ink – Crushed Olive, Dusty Concord, Tattered Rose, Tea Dye, Walnut Stain
  • Ink Applicator Tool & Foam Pads
  • White Crinkle Ribbon
  • Perfect Pearls Mist – Heirloom Gold
  • Mini Glue Dots
  • Double-Sided Tape (Terrifically Tacky Tape)
  • Foam Dots & Adhesive (Tacky Glue)
