Tags

, , , , , , ,

Here’s my MCCR Design Team scrapbook layout for Friday the 13th. I was originally going to use a ‘gothic’ palette (lots of reds & blacks), but after some careful consideration, I lightened it up. My sweetie & I are taking a mini-vacation this weekend, so I wanted this page to fit with the others.

0 - Friday 13th

For the title, I grabbed one of my all-time favorite cartridges: Happy Hauntings. Using the Spooky Font, I typed ‘Friday’ at 1.5″ tall. Then, I moved the letters around making sure to overlap them slightly. The letters were welded together on my Gypsy, but you could also use Cricut Craft Room. I cut ‘Friday’ out three times from black cardstock & glued them together to create a bit of extra dimension. The Spooky font doesn’t have a shadow layer, so I improvised by using the Vampire Font shadow, it’s essentially the same font with ‘drips’ added. After cutting the shadow from red cardstock & gluing the top layer(s) on, I carefully trimmed off the ‘drips’ with a pair of small detail scissors.

The ’13’ is also from Happy Hauntings (Phrases) cut at 1.5″ tall. I originally cut the top layer from red cardstock, but it ended up being too dark for the background paper I selected from my stash. I recut the top layer in yellow cardstock & added a bit of Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink to the edges. The yellow cardstock was glued slightly offset so a bit of the red cardstock would still show. The ’13’ was glued to the page with foam dots. The rest of the title was written by hand with a red metallic gel pen.

1 - Embelishments

When I’m cutting more intricate designs, I’ve found that I have an easier time getting everything off the mat if I remove the ‘excess’ pieces first (also know as ‘weeding’). After I changed the color palette, ‘Lucky!’ (Indie Art, cut at 2″ tall) ended up being set aside for a later project.

2 - Draw on Background

‘Carte Postale’ is from the French Manor cartridge (a Cricut Circle exclusive) drawn at 3″ tall & 2″ tall. To make the words a part of the background, I positioned 3 of the 4 words off the edge of the mat. For this project, I used an orange metallic gel pen in a pen holder.

A quick note about drawing with your Cricut machine: just like cutting, you won’t be able to draw to the edge of the paper (unless you have an Imagine), so you’ll need to plan accordingly. I filled in the missing parts of the words by hand, but if I had chosen a more complicated shape, I would have cut my images from scrap cardstock & traced the missing parts.

3 - Bird Detail

The bird is also from French Manor & is cut at 2″ tall from light orange cardstock. It’s hard to see in the photo, but there is an extra top layer on the bird. The orange cardstock was a little bright, so Wild Honey Distress Ink was rubbed over top & edges to tone it down. Because the back wing wasn’t attached to the body, I kept the paper the bird was cut out from to line up the pieces when I glued it down.

After the bird was glued down, I decided to add a second bird on the right. I used the paper that the bird had been cut out of as a stencil (flipped over) & inked the second bird with Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink.

4 - Friday 13th

The oval behind the Colorbök Nocturne transparency frame is cut at 5″ tall by 4″ wide. I modified an oval from George & Basic Shapes, but there are any number of cartridges with plain ovals. Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink was also used on the oval.

The white chipboard piece is from Close To My Heart & will be used for the journaling (to be added after I have a photo). The edges were colored with Tattered Rose  & Tea Dye Distress Ink.

For more Design Team projects, please visit http://mycricutcraftroom.blogspot.com.

Supplies

  • Cardstock – red, yellow, light orange, orange, black
  • Background paper – from my stash
  • Transparency frame – Colorbök Nocturne
  • Chipboard piece – Close To My Heart
  • Cricut Cartridges:
      • Happy Hauntings – custom title
      • French Manor (Cricut Circle exclusive) – bird & background words
      • George & Basic Shapes – modified oval
  • Distress Ink – Spiced Marmalade, Tattered Rose, Tea Dye, Wild Honey
