Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Lots has happened this last year, just not with my crafting. As I’ve been unpacking my craft supplies over the last month, I noticed that some of it needed to be dusted. So very sad…

Since my supplies are now being divided between a folding table with storage and a tall bookshelf, I’ve been reacquainting myself with my supplies as I reorganize. If you’ve ever had to move, you’ll know that what works in one place may not be ideal in another. Perfect solutions evolve as our habits change, some growing, some falling away.

Philosophy aside, I was reminded of why I craft when sorting through my wood mounted stamps. One of my favorite Picasso quotes neatly summarizes it: “Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.” So, even though I haven’t finished reorganizing my supplies, I decided to indulge a bit, wash away a bit of dust…

Tags, ink, stamp tools, paint, flour sack cloth, laptop stand with my craft sheet & a comfy chair… I left my Gypsy & fancier toys put away, knowing it would be too easy to get overwhelmed if I didn’t limit my choices & pick a direction. A dear family friend has an October birthday, so I grabbed my Picasso quote stamp & a new background stamp based on The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe.

Background Stamp - The Raven

Background stamp based on poem The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe

Since the goal was de-stressing with my Distress Inks and scraps, I didn’t take any notes. I also didn’t worry about pictures until I was done.

Oct Bday Tag

I had just received a set of Distress Paint metallic colors (Brushed Pewter, Tarnished Brass and Antiqued Bronze) in the mail, so I started there. I shook up the Antiqued Bronze, scribbled a bit on the craft sheet, sprayed a bit of water and started dipping tags. Once the tags were dry, I grabbed one that looked promising for a patina effect & covered it with Peacock Feathers Distress Ink. The flourishes were stamped in Peeled Paint Distress Ink, then gently rubbed off with a damp cloth. (Distress Paint is an acrylic, so acts as a resist when dry.) The butterfly & dress form are from a favorite Hampton Arts unmounted stamp set. The dress form was stamped in Jet Black Archival Ink. I didn’t want a crisp image, so I rubbed the ink onto the stamp, then rolled the stamp into the tag. The butterfly was stamped in Black Soot Distress Ink, then rubbed off the Distress Paint with a damp cloth. You can’t really tell in the photo, but Rock Candy Distress Stickles was rubbed over the top of the dress form. I wanted the Picasso quote to stand out, so a bit of Picket Fence Distress Paint was rubbed on & dried before it was stamped in Jet Black Archival Ink. For embellishments, because why not, I grabbed a clear teardrop and custom brads I made when I was first playing with my Imaginese I-Top. The teardrop was glued on with Glossy Accents. The brads were inked around the edges with Distress Ink (Vintage Photo & Peacock Feathers) since the paper had a white background. A bit of white crinkle ribbon was colored with Antique Bronze Distress Paint and a few other colors. I didn’t like the first color combination on the ribbon, so I rinsed out ink, dried, added ink, dried & repeated until it looked right for the tag.

Oct Bday Card

I started by covering a manila tag with Picket Fence Distress Stain & quickly drying it with a heat tool, since I wanted a softer feel. I covered the tag in Distress Ink until I liked it (sorry, no idea which colors I used other than more than five), then stamped The Raven poem background stamp in Eggplant VersaMagic Chalk Ink by Tsunkineko.

Just a side note: I love the look of the chalk ink, but keep in mind that it is chalk. It takes a while to dry & will smear if you’re not careful.

Milled Lavender Distress Stickles was rubbed over the raven & hat. The top of the tag was trimmed off & the edges were darkened with Distress Ink (I’d guess Dusty Concord & Walnut Stain, but can’t be sure).

The sentiments were a mix of stamps. On the front, ‘Spooktacular’ was from one of the bargain bins at Michaels. ‘Have a day filled with…’ & ‘Fun’ were part of the Close to My Heart D1498 set. While I was stamping sentiments for the front of the card, I grabbed stamps for the inside as well. ‘happy birthday’ is from the Close to My Heart D1307 Annotations set. ‘make a big wish.’ is another bargain bin stamp (from Michaels or JoAnn).

Oct Bday Card - Inside

I dug through my scraps bag for a few bits that worked & I moved things about until I had something that looked finished. The card was a bit plain behind the layers, so I added a pattern with Distress Ink, probably Tea Dye, through a 6×6 template (Mini Capricious from The Crafter’s Workshop). I moved the stencil around to get somewhat random groups of curls. The leaves, swirls and tag were glued onto the card with Glossy Accents. The sentiment pieces were stuck on with glue dots (dimensional dots for ‘Spooktacular’).

Misc Supplies

  • Distress Paint: Antiqued Bronze, Picket Fence
  • Distress Ink: Peacock Feathers, etc
  • Distress Stain: Picket Fence, etc
  • Stamps:
      • CTMH D1498: ‘Have a day filled with…’, ‘Fun’
      • CTMH D1307: ‘happy birthday’
      • Hampton Arts / Graphic 45: IC0057M Cling Steam Punk
      • Wood mount background stamp: The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe
      • Bargain bin wood mount stamps: flourish, ‘Spooktacular’, ‘make a big wish.’
  • Ranger Archival Ink: Jet Black
  • Tsukineko VersaMagic Chalk Ink: Eggplant
  • Template: 6×6 Mini Capricious from The Crafter’s Workshop
  • Misc embellishments
  • Adhesives: Glossy Accents & Glue Dots (Mini & Dimensional)
  • Misc Tools: Non-Stick Craft Sheet, Ink Tool with Blending Foam, Heat Tool, Flour Sack Towel, Mister, Mounting Blocks or Grid Blocks for unmounted stamps, etc
