Tags

, , , , ,

Over the holidays, I finally grabbed a book on chain maille patterns that’s been on my wish list for quite some time. Between trying to get over a nasty winter cough, working, sleeping and other bothersome distractions, I’ve been reading through the patterns & trying out bits & pieces. This is my first completed project: a byzantine pattern necklace.

Byzantine Rainbow

To make my first attempt a bit easier, I decided to use accent colors for every third pair while assembling the byzantine chain. I didn’t have an overwhelming amount of each color of aluminum jump rings, so I settled on six (6) pairs of each color (light blue, royal blue, purple, pink, orange, gold, light green). The finished chain is about fifteen (15) inches long, plus another inch for the clasp. The “made with love” charm was from my stash, but I’ve seen similar charms at different craft & hobby stores.

Supplies

  • Needle-nose jewelry pliers (smooth, textured jaws will mark the metal rings)
  • Bent-nose jewelry pliers
  • ImpressArt 18G 3/16″ jump rings
    • Anodized Aluminum
    • Aluminum Mixed Colors
  • Split Rings
  • “Made With Love” Charm
  • Clasp
